Book Review: Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

wntrsngrvw.PNG

“Once there was a little girl who played her music for a little boy in the wood. She was small and dark, he was tall and fair, and the two of them made a fancy pair as they danced together, dancing to the music the little girl heard in her head.”
― S. Jae-Jones, Wintersong

Hello! For now I’m going to talk about my thoughts and opinions on Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. This is a book about music, love, family, and the sacrifices we make. This book is perfect for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast.

100d57c0fab2ca74b22def038584ce17

Blurb:

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride….

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind and spirit and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds–and the mysterious man who rules it–she soon faces an impossible decision. With time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Dark, romantic, and powerful, Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

Book Depository     star     Amazon     star     Goodreads

100d57c0fab2ca74b22def038584ce17

My Review:

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones made me cry in more ways than I can count. I never believed that ink and words could produce music until I’ve read this book. Wintersong is about love, family, passion, our loyalty to ourselves, and the magic of childhood. It taught me that love is sacrifice, that music is heart and feelings and passion.

The protagonist, Liesl, is a simple, humble girl with desires she can never reach. She plays the role of a dutiful daughter, but her soul is rich with music, passion, and silent talent. She loves everyone despite everything horrible they did to her. She’d make a lovely Belle.

The Goblin King is handsome and so so gorgeous! That’s another book boyfriend! He’s very mysterious and there are different sides/moods to him. All I can say is that he’s a passionate young man with dark secrets and humble wishes. He may have a crown, but his suffering and sacrifice reminds me of that of Rhysand’s (ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Maas).

However, the problem I have with the characters is the inconsistency. I’m really baffled about Liesl’s whole person. One moment she’s a humble and silent and the next she’s insatiable all-consuming fire. And by moment, I mean a mere page.

Let’s move on to the world-building. Author S. Jae-Jones has created a beautiful world with a colourful change of seasons, interesting mythology, and a place in the era of music legends like Mozart and Beethoven.

Lastly, the plot is a unique mix of Beauty and the Beast, Labyrinth, and a pinch of Persephone and Hades. The story is beautiful and interesting, but the pacing is incredibly slow. And there were some concepts and ideas that still baffle me. As much as I enjoy the musical air, I hate that I was bored and confused in some parts of the book. This is a clear case of ‘It’s not you, it’s me’, which I hope reminds you guys that these are my opinions, and yours may differ once you’ve read the book. The ending also felt like a huge cliffhanger. Like a plug suddenly pulled. I mean, what, it’s over? After everything?

Haha, I’m still glad there’s a book two, though, which is Shadowsong. My review ends here, friends, and I hope this post is helpful!

100d57c0fab2ca74b22def038584ce17

My Rating:

db0dd4ed13d69862e8ae7cc9aba97531  db0dd4ed13d69862e8ae7cc9aba97531  db0dd4ed13d69862e8ae7cc9aba97531  db0dd4ed13d69862e8ae7cc9aba97531

4 / 5 Dragon Eggs

100d57c0fab2ca74b22def038584ce17

 

athenasig2

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.