If You Liked… #1

Another recommendations post for everyone! Have you ever read a book and you think,’Hey, this is just like___!’ It’s like meeting someone new who suddenly reminds you of another person you know well.

I’ve found some similarities between some of the books I’ve read and I’m sharing some pairs below.

 


 

If you liked SIX OF CROWS, you’ll love THE GILDED WOLVES

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)  The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)

 

Both of these books have heists and the characters treat each other like family. There is also humor that you’ll love, badass women characters, and soft precious boys. If you’re a fan of these things then you will love The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi!

 


If you liked FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS, you’ll love DESCENDANT OF THE CRANE

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1)  Descendant of the Crane

 

The similarities you’ll find in both books is that they’re both inspired by Asian origins, and have political drama. The main characters of both books are troubled–Xifeng from FoTL can’t control the monsters that haunt her deep down, while Hesina from DotC is desperate to uncover the secret of her father’s death–and to discover the identity of his murderer, .

 


 

If you liked THE BONE WITCH, you’ll love A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1)  A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1)

 

Both books feature magical apprenticeship, huge beasts, lots of fashion (but of different eras), and the main characters of both books become someone who is feared/despised in their kingdoms. The society in both books are a bit of a genderbend too: In The Bone Witch, Tea lived with women while in A Shadow Bright and Burning, Howell has to put up with being the only female magic-wielder in a sea of men.

 


 

If you liked THREE DARK CROWNS, you’ll love OVERRULED

Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)  OverRuled (The OverRuled Series, book 1)

 

These two books are similar in the way that they both have women fighting for the throne–and their survival. The only difference is that Three Dark Crowns has three characters while OverRuled has two. Also–there are superpowers, and they’re similar tothe powers of two characters from TDC! Read OverRuled to find out who *wink wink*

 


ny4jkhv1

Have you read any of these books?

Which pair do you think is the best match?

Do you know other books that are pretty similar too?

 


 

Thank you, thank you for taking the time to read this post! Because I work hard for this little book blog, I’d love it if you could support me by liking, commenting, and sharing this post, OR you can send me an encouraging message.

 

ATHENA S.

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “If You Liked… #1

  1. Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea says:

    I love posts like this so much—I’m actually thinking of doing one myself :”). I have read both six of crows and the Gilded Wolves, & I can confirm that both are amazing comp titles for each other! I read a shadow bright and burning but not the bone witch. The bone witch is really high on my TBR, though! And since I did really enjoy a shadow bright and burning, I’m now feeling quite positive about the bone witch !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.